28 June 2012

1940 US Census for American Samoa

I've already been searching the 1940 US Census for American Samoa looking for my families. I've found extended families members, still not finding what I'm looking for. More searching to go.

Meanwhile, if you haven't viewed the 1940 US Census for American Samoa, below are links to the counties.

I'd love to hear your findings or what you are searching for in the 1940 US Census. Post your comments below or on the SGG Facebook page.


1940 US Census American Samoa link to FamilySearch.



Eastern District of Tutuila
Ituau County


 2-1 Ituau County, Fagasa Village, Faganeanea Village, Matuu Village, Nuuuli Village

Mauputasi County
Mauputasi County, Atuu, Marist School for Boys

Saole County
2-6 Saole County, Alofau Village, Amouli Village, Aunuu Island including Aunuu Village, Utumea Village


Vaifanua County
2-8 Vaifanua County, Alao Village, Aoa Village, Onenoa Village, Pola Island, Tula Village, Vatia Village


Mauputasi County
2-2 Mauputasi County, Anua Village, Atuu Village including Catholic School for Girls, Aua Village, Fagaalu Village, Fagatogo Village including Samoan Hospital, Fatumafuti Village, Leloaloa Village, Lepua Village including Catholic School for Girls, Pago Pago Village, Satala Village, Utulei Village

Mauputasi County, U.S. Naval Reservation
2-4 Mauputasi County, U.S. Naval Reservation including Naval Ships in Harbor, Naval Radio Station
2-5 Mauputasi County, U.S. Naval Reservation, Island Government Prison


Sua County
2-7 Sua County, Afono Village, Amaua Village, Bartlett Island, Fagaitua Village, Laulii Village, Masausi Village, Masefau Village, Sailele Village

Manua
Faleasao County, Faleasao
1-1 Faleasao County, Faleasao Village

Fitiuta County
1-2 Fitiuta County, Leusoalii Village, Maia Village

Ofu County
1-3 Ofu County, Nuu Island, Nuu Silaelae Island, Ofu Village

Olosega County
1-4 Olosega County, Olosega Village, Sili Village

Tau County
1-5 Tau County, Amouli Village, Luma Village, Siufaga Village

Swains Island
5-1 Swains Island

Western District of Tutuila
Lealataua County
3-1 Lealataua County, Afao Village, Amaluia Village, Amanave Village, Asili Village, Atauloma Village, Fagalii Village, Fagamalo Village, Failolo Village, Leone Village including Catholic School for Girls and Marist School for Boys, London Missionary Society School for Boys - Fagalele Land, Nua Village, Poloa Village, Seetaga Village, Taputapu Island

Lealataua County, Atauloma
3-2 Lealataua County, Atauloma Village, London Missionary Society School for Girls

Leasina County
3-3 Leasina County, Aitulagi Village, Aoloau Village, Asu Village

Tualatai County
3-4 Tualatai County, Feleti School for Boys - Le'Ala Land, Futiga Village, Ituau Village, Taputimu Village, Vailoatai Village

Tualauta County
3-5 Tualauta County, Faleniu Village, Iliili Village, Mapusaga Village, Pavaiai Village, Tafuna Village, Vaitogi Village

Tualauta County, Mapusaga, Mormon School
3-6 Tualauta County, Mapusaga Village, Mormon School


27 June 2012

5 Million Record Day!



I have been hooked on indexing since the first day I started. FamilySearch has a goal to index and arbitrate 5 Million records in one day! I've never been apart of a record breaking event, this is cool!!

The day is Monday, July 2, 2012 or depending on your time zone, July 1. Wouldn't it be awesome if we reached the goal!!

Sending some words out to the Samoan Community. Let's jump in and help out. If you are already indexing or an arbitrator. Awesome! Keep up the good work! If your new to indexing and want to be apart of this event. Visit the links below. Its easy to sign up and there is lots of help to get you started.

FamilySearch Blog: https://familysearch.org/blog/indexing/

FamilySearch Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/events/156608427806812

Sign up to be an indexer with FamilySearch here: https://the1940census.com/getting-started/



5 Million Day Local Start Times
from FamilySearch Facebook page


Start times for various locations:

Anchorage, Alaska: July 1 @ 4:00 PM
Berlin, Germany: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Brussels, Belgium: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 1 @ 9:00 PM
Chicago, Illinois: July 1 @ 7:00 PM
Honolulu, Hawaii: July 1 @ 2:00 PM
Johannesburg, South Africa: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Kyiv, Ukraine: July 2 @ 3:00 AM
London, England: July 2 @ 1:00 AM
Los Angeles, California: July 1 @ 5:00 PM
Moscow, Russia: July 2 @ 4:00 AM
New York City, New York: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
Ottawa, Canada: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
Paris, France: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Phoenix, Arizona: July 1 @ 5:00 PM
Rome, Italy: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Salt Lake City, Utah: July 1 @ 6:00 PM
Santiago, Chile: July 1 @ 8:00 PM
Sao Paulo, Brazil: July 1 @ 9:00 PM
Stockholm, Sweden: July 2 @ 2:00 AM
Sydney, Australia: July 2 @ 10:00 AM
Warsaw, Poland: July 2 @ 2:00 AM




19 June 2012

Terms used on Samoan Birth Certificate

I have been looking over my genealogy records and found some birth certificates that my grandmother got while she was in Samoa. The terms on the certificates are in Samoan and English.


Nu’u na famau ai Place of Registration
Tamaitiiti                      Child
Fanau                            Birth


Aso na fanau ai              When born
Nu’u na fanau ai              Where born, birthplace
Igoa muamua                 Christian or first name
Tama po’o se teine          Gender


Tama                           Father
Igoa atoa                     Name and Surname
Galuega                        Profession or Occupation
Tausaga                       Age

Tina                            Mother
Faai’u ae le’i faaipoipo      Maiden Surname

18 June 2012

Family Tree Magazine highlights Samoan Genealogy Group


Family Tree Magazine highlights 
Samoan Genealogy Group, for 
"Top 40 International Blogs"





I’d like to thank Family Tree Magazine for highlighting the Samoan Genealogy Group on their, “Top 40 International Blogs”. I was very surprised and excited. 

My inspiration to start this blog and group came from my grandmother Mataniu. She shared her genealogy experiences that inspired me to start and build my own family history.  

My grandma helped me fill in my first pedigree chart. I was so excited to see all my ancestors. I began to ask her questions. She would tell me story after story, from then on I was hooked on genealogy!! 

She passed away in 1999. My genealogy research has grown from my first pedigree chart to folders, books, charts and more. 

I created this blog to share resources that have helped me in my Samoan genealogy research, that maybe it might help others in theirs or maybe even inspire someone to start their family history. 

Fa’afetai lava, thank you very much for visiting the Samoan Genealogy Group blog. 

Visit us on Facebook, Pinterest and Twitter.

14 June 2012

Family Reunion in August

I'm excited about our Tuia family reunion happening in August. This reunion is for the descendants of Tupua Mailei Tuia (born 1825).  Genealogy is going to be the focus of the reunion. The family has been asked to memorize and recite four generations of their line starting with themselves. Huummmm?? Can you recite your 4 generations?

Another part of the genealogy session is a hands-on workshop for everyone to produce a family chart of their line. I think this is a great exercise for the family reunion. The families are invited to bring their genealogy records for collaboration.

Tupua Mailei Tuia had 5 wives:

1. Tufaiga
Children: f) Toipua 1865

2. Kuea
Children: f) Sisifata 1867

3. Mrs. Mailei Tuia
Children: m) Limaono 1869

4. Vaimasina Fetuliagogo Muagututia
Children: m) Alaia Siaea 1869-1927
f) Sivaotele 1871-1919
m) Siaifoi 1873
m) Toetoe 1875-1878
f) Silei 1877-1903
*m) Apiolefaga 17 Oct 1879-15 Mar 1938
m) Apiolesau 1881-1902
f) Matalega 1883-25 Nov 1965
f) Fuamoa 1885-1918
m) Samu 1887-1918

5. Toaiga
Children: m) 1889 Asini Vito

I come from wife number four, Vaimasina Fetuliagogo Muagututia. Her son Apiolefaga md Salafai Taimalelagi Malietoa and had my grandmother Mataniu Tuia.


02 June 2012

Samoa Independence Day


In 1962, Samoa became the first South Pacific island to gain independence. This year marks Samoa's Golden Jubilee. Be sure to catch hype and festivities of the Celebrations. People gather to  Mulinu'u, near Apia, to watch the celebrations, which include the annual independence march, village cultural performances and the much anticipated flag-raising ceremony. 

Samoa's Chief of State, Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi, addresses the crowd. He speaks of  the country's past and the struggles it has faced. The tragedies of earthquakes, hurricanes and recently the tsunami off the southern coast of Upolu that killed almost 200 people. 


"We have been blessed with good leadership ... and we acknowledge that leadership," he says.

"Samoa is not a Government, Samoa is a family."



Mau leaders and Tupua Tamasese Lealofi III in front of Mau office 1929


Women's Mau leaders and committee in front of octagonal Mau office ca 1930



Press Statement from Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton

What does 50 years of Independence mean to me?
To Remember the journey our ancestors took, that future generations may have freedom.